ICOET 2001
ICOET 2003
ICOET 2005
The International Conference
on Ecology & Transportation

September 24-28, 2001
Keystone, Colorado
2001 Sponsors

Planning Committee
The ICOET planning committee includes representatives from state and federal agencies, universities, private industry, and non-government organizations. The committee is responsible for reviewing abstracts and developing the technical program. The asterisk (*) denotes those agencies/organizations that also provided financial support for the 2001 program.

  • Gary Evink (Chair)
    Environmental Consultant
  • Fred Bank and Paul Garrett
    Federal Highway Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation*
  • George Gerstle
    Planning Branch, Colorado Department of Transportation*
  • Susan Hagood
    Humane Society of the United States*
  • Leroy Irwin
    Florida Department of Transportation; Representative, Standing Committee on the Environment, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
  • Thomas Linkous
    Ohio Department of Transportation; Representative, Transportation Research Board Subcommittee on Natural Resources and Environmental Stewardship
  • James Martin and Kathryn McDermott
    Center for Transportation and the Environment, North Carolina State University*
  • Don Peterson
    Division of Habitat Conservation, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service*
  • Ann Roche
    Wetlands Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency*
  • Bill Ruediger
    Ecology Program for Highways, USDA Forest Service*
  • Paul Wagner
    Office of Environmental Affairs, Washington State Department of Transportation*
  • Patricia White
    Defenders of Wildlife*
  • David Zeigler
    Office of Environmental Management, Florida Department of Transportation

Corporate Partners
ICOET 2001 had three corporate sponsors, whose support made possible the welcome reception and other networking opportunities:

  • SAIC, Inc.
  • Carter & Burgess
  • Tetra Tech Consultants

Host Agency
Colorado Department of Transportation served as the host agency for the 2001 conference. As host agency, CDOT worked diligently to organize two outstanding field trips (aquatic and terrestrial) and to provide on-site support throughout the event. Special thanks go to George Gerstle, Vicki Kraus, Beth Chase, Roland Wostl, Bill Goosman, Wes Goff, Jerry Powell, Ralph Trapani, Joe Elsen, Kurt Broderdorp, and Marie Venner.

For more information, please visit this site often, or contact CTE.